**Legislative Update** - HB 572, HCR 31 placed on House Civil Law Committee Agenda*

Senate Bill 358 by Senator Luneau would provide for electronic notaries public and electronic notary acts. The LNA legislative team believes this legislation fails to create an e-notary framework that protects the public and is not consistent with our civil law tradition.

The Chairman of the House Committee on Civil Law & Procedure-Representative Raymond Garofalo, Jr.-has placed HCR31 on the Committee's agenda for this Monday (April 9th) at 1pm. This Resolution instructs the Louisiana State Law Institute to prepare proposed legislation regarding electronic notary law in Louisiana. The Louisiana Notary Association's (LNA's) legislative team supports the proposed resolution and its goal of providing a quality legal framework for electronic notarial acts within Louisiana's civil law system. The LNA urges its members to continue to contact the committee members to voice opposition to HB 572 by Representative Tanner Magee, recommending HCR 31 as an alternative. Chairman - Raymond E Garofalo, Jr. Republican - District 103 9000 W St. Bernard Parkway Suite 40 Chalmette LA Phone: (504)277-4729 Fax: (504)278-6597 garofalor@legis.la.gov Legislative Aide: John Scurich Vice Chairman - Randal L. Gaines 425 W. Airline Hwy. Ste. K LaPlace, LA 70068-3818 Phone: (985)652-1228 Fax: (985)652-1229 gainesr@legis.la.gov Legislative Aide: Peggy Joseph Robby Carter 225 NW Central Avenue Amite, LA 70422 Phone: (985)748-2245 Fax: (985)748-2247 carterr@legis.la.gov Legislative Aide: Joan Arnone Raymond Crews 4921 Shed Rd. Ste. 200 Bossier City, LA 71111-5477 Phone: (318)716-7532 Fax: (318)239-1677 crewsr@legis.la.gov Legislative Aide: Ali Feaster Smith Gregory Cromer P.O. Box 2088 Slidell, LA 70459 Phone: (985)645-3592 Fax: (985)645-3594 cromerg@legis.la.gov Legislative Aide: Mary DuBuisson Julie Emerson 306 North Church St. Carencro, LA 70520 Phone: (337)886-4687 Fax: (337)886-4689 emersonj@legis.la.gov Legislative Aide: Charisse Mouton Sam L. Jenkins, Jr. 2419 Kings Hwy. Shreveport, LA 71103 Phone: (318)632-5970 Fax: (318)632-5972 jenkinss@legis.la.gov Legislative Aide: Valerie Wilson and Robert Williams Tanner Magee 7833 Main St. Houma, LA 70360 Phone: (985)858-2970 Fax: (985)858-2972 mageet@legis.la.gov Legislative Aide: Vickie Larke Gregory Miller P.O. Box 190 Norco, LA 70079 Phone: (985)764-9991 Fax: (985)764-9993 millerg@legis.la.gov Legislative Aide: Donna Lambert Alan Seabaugh 401 Market St. Suite 1120 Shreveport, LA 71101 Phone: (318)676-7990 Fax: (318)676-7992 seabaugha@legis.la.gov Legislative Aide: Terri Dickerson Taylor F Barras (ex oficio) 800 S. Lewis Street Suite 206, 2nd Floor New Iberia, LA 70560 Phone: (337)373-4051 Fax: (337)373-4053 barrast@legis.la.gov Legislative Aide: Julie Romero Walt Legier, III (ex oficio) 935 Gravier St. Suite 2155 New Orleans, LA 70112 Phone: (504)556-9970 Fax: (504)556-9972 legerw@legis.la.gov Legislative Aide: Alice Glenn

Featured Posts